C L Continues Forward


Week 6

UPDATE: C L Conqueres the Plateau!

Monday Morning, March 16 2009, 9:00 am

Weight loss for week 6, 1 pound

Accumulated weight loss since January 25th, 2008, 11 pounds

Today’s weight, 313 pounds

Saturday, March 14

Well, it happened. I hit a plateau. Despite my efforts, I weighed 314 lbs for a second week in a row.

On low-calorie diets, these frustrating periods seem to occur sometime between Week 3 and Week 5…and typically after around an 8-10% reduction in bodyweight. But as much as I was prepared to keep a positive outlook during this occurrence, I must say that I felt slightly depressed for a brief moment(if you consider 24 hours).

I quickly reflected on the last time I followed this program. During that 12 week period, I only reported 2 weeks of ‘zero’ weight loss. I soon felt better after that recollection (Hey…some people can actually gain weight during these sobering physiological adjustments, so it could have been worse).

After reviewing my nutritional diary from last week, I could not dismiss sodium as a possible culprit. Water retention can often wreak havoc on a dieter’s weekly performance. Lack of sleep and dehydration can also play a part.

So where do I go from here? Forward, my friends! Even if I weigh in 314 for a third week in a row, so be it. I know that this program works (I have some baggy pants to prove it).

2 thoughts on “C L Continues Forward

  1. Lois Grebowski

    CL, in my experience, when I’d hit a plateau I would still lose inches, not weight…then all of the sudden the scale would finally show (and how!).Keep going, you’re doing well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

