Polarity Of Mind, From Nintey Mile Wind

By Craig Bickardt
Courtesy Nintey Mile Wind

In Polarity Of Mind, Craig Bickhardt presents writing methods that are helpful to both songwriters and novelists. He recommends that writers avoid the distractions of multi-tasking while they are in a state of deep creativity and concentration.

I’ve just returned from a ten day road trip that included a few days in Nashville. I might blog about the trip next time, but for now I’m following up on my last post, Deep Creativity. I came upon a wonderful series of articles by Merlin Mann on the same subject called “Making Time To Make” (note this link is only Part One of the series, see the other two parts at the 43Folders Blog). In it he quotes novelist Neal Stephenson on the subject of Internet (and general) distraction:

“Writing novels is hard, and requires vast, unbroken slabs of time. Four quiet hours is a resource that I can put to good use. Two slabs of time, each two hours long, might add up to the same four hours, but are not nearly as productive as an unbroken four. If I know that I am going to be interrupted, I can’t concentrate, and if I suspect that I might be interrupted, I can’t do anything at all. Likewise, several consecutive days with four-hour time-slabs in them give me a stretch of time in which I can write a decent book chapter, but the same number of hours spread out across a few weeks, with interruptions in between them, are nearly useless.”

Go here to read Craig’s entire article titled “Polarity Of Mind”

Leave a Reply

