Historic Post Office In Nashville Arcade To Remain Open

By Betsy Thorpe

First opened in 1903 the Arcade’s Post Office was placed on the 2009 Nashville Historic Inc list of Davidson County’s nine most endangered places following an announcement by the United States Postal Service that the downtown location was among sixteen Tennessee postal stations slated for closing. Thanks in part to the public awareness brought by Historic Nashville Inc and to the efforts of the Aracade’s patrons and vendors the Postal Service recently removed the Arcade location from their closure list and a valuable link to Nashville’s past was preserved.

3 thoughts on “Historic Post Office In Nashville Arcade To Remain Open

  1. mythopolis

    Hi, I collect vintage Real-Photo postcards, and some seem to have originated from 'The Violet Studio' in the Arcade. I was wondering if you know what years that might have been there? Real-Photo postcards were most popular from 1905-1930.I enjoyed looking at your site.

    Reply
  2. Betsy Thorpe

    Mythopolis, I don't know anything about the Violet Studio, but do know a coupl of people I can ask.Give me a few days and I will get back with you.Thanks for stopping by.Betsy Thorpe

    Reply
  3. Betsy Thorpe

    Mythopolis, I don't know anything about the Violet Studio, but do know a coupl of people I can ask.Give me a few days and I will get back with you.Thanks for stopping by.Betsy Thorpe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

