Weekly Photo Challenge: Change

 

 

This week the hosts at WordPress challenged bloggers to find and write about a photo that represents change. I accepted their challenge.
The wrecking ball came to Hillsboro Village today.  The building that once housed Cotten Music is coming down and my old neighborhood will never look the same. It will take me a while to get used to seeing a gaping hole where buildings once stood.  Later,  after construction begins, the sights, sounds and inconveniences of a construction site will greet me every time I walk by. I hope that when the new building goes up that it doesn’t diminish the character of the area, but even if it looks exactly like the buildings standing nearby  the new structure will only mimic the character and history of Hillsboro Village.
Change.
I knew this change was coming.
I just wasn’t prepared for it to really happen.
3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Change

  1. chrislambos

    I will miss Cotten’s Music Center in the Village. My first guitar came from there when I was 6 years old. Rob Jackson taught me how to ROCK in that place back in the 70s. Chuck, Richard Cotten, his mom…and now the building. All gone! Only memories now.

    Reply
    1. From My Porch Post author

      Think of all the guitar players who dashed over to Cotton’s for strings and picks while recording songs on Music Row. Oh how many sets of Ernie Balls did I pick up for my hubby from there…..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

