My Life Is Like A Bicycle Ride

My Bike
My Ride
My Schwinn
This  morning I struggled to pedal my bike up a steep incline. I’m really out of shape. I haven’t ridden since last fall and I almost didn’t make it to the top of the hill. Years ago, when I first started riding on the Mill Creek Greenway, I mapped out the course that I followed today. The first part is mostly uphill. I have to work hard to get through it. The second part is easy. A downhill glide most of the way home. I designed the course that way on purpose. Every time I huff and puff up the hill I’m inspired to continue knowing that once I reach the top the worst of the ride is behind me. This morning, as I raced down the hill, the thought came to me. My life is like a bicycle ride. I worked hard for many years; it’s been an uphill struggle much of the time, but the pinnacle is in sight. I’ll retire in a few years and I plan to take life easy then. I plan to enjoy the ride. The best is yet to come.
My life is like a bicycle ride.

Leave a Reply

